Erase Thinking portion of llm response after it's been completed
I want the ability to delete the Thinking portion of DeepSeeks responses and future reasoning models to save on context. As far as I understand it the whole chat is sent to the model as context each prompt, not only does the thinking segment take up a up to 1/3 of the context but the Thinking portion is often prone to confusion. By confusion I mean it’ll think about what I might mean and not mean, but answer mostly correctly. However future prompts mistake that portion of the previous prompt for my actual meaning and discard what I’ve explicitly noted.
Being able to toggle deleting thought process after a response has been fully generated would be valuable for both these reasons imo.
Log in to comment and vote
Comments2
Indigo Straw
Feb 6, 2025
This should already be implemented.
The
<think></think>portion of the context is stripped from the broader context before it’s send back in the next prompt.Are you seeing something that would indicate it isn’t working?
Silver River
Feb 6, 2025
No you’re right, I just tested it and it has no recollection of part of an earlier thought process I quoted to it.
Edited for spelling.